To what extent are the benefits to the developing country outweighed by the interests of those in the funding country?

Non-Government Organisation (NGO) in Bangladesh have been come to light when the news of NGO promoting secularism was being broadcasted in Bangladesh where the majority of the people are sentimental to their respective faiths. The aim of the paper is to first develop a concept of NGOs focusing on one particular NGO named, Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee, secondly it will describe the possible influences of the donors with evidences and finally it will look at the consequences of some influences. This essay will describe the impacts of the NGO, Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee (BRAC) on Bangladesh considering the interest of the west. It will demonstrate the severity of the influence of any coercion of ideology in terms of religion, culture, and social values on the beneficiaries. Bangladesh is one of the few countries with burgeoning NGOs and there are 2530 local NGOs registered with the NGO Affairs Bureau as of May, 2021(NGOAB, 2021). The NGOs in Bangladesh started off focusing on relief and rehabilitation in the ’70s and now they promote human wellbeing by bridging the gap of society and state. It is contributing to education, healthcare, employment, agriculture, and women empowerment. They are taking part in grassroots legal reform with a vision of empowering the most powerless of the country (ADB, 2008: 2). The NGOs in Bangladesh are mostly foreign-funded. their humanitarian activities beyond the boundaries of Europe for not only their survival but also to reach their ideological goals (O’Coil &Manji, 2002: 573). Hashmi (2000: 135) points out that the establishment of NGOs right after the birth of Bangladesh have played a role of the country being democratic. Mannan (2010: 364-365) claimed that, NGOs have an advantage to access the ideological resources and they use them to build an authority by developing socio political structures. Evidence states that some NGOs in Bangladesh are driven with foreign ideologies as once an NGO leader in Bangladesh said that they are comfortable to communicate the issues of poverty with the foreign donors rather than the poor as the donors have the real insights (Mannan, 2015: 275). Mannan (ibid) argues that the dependency of these leaders on western ideas cannot reach a well-researched outcome.