to speak a foreign language

In our society many people must live outside of their own country for studying, working and many other reasons, which mean they need speak a foreign language every day. But does it make their life more difficult, does it bring them socials or practical issues? First, when moving to a new city or a new neighbourhood you feel the need of making new friends, but when moving to another country where people don’t speak your mother tongue it may become a bit hard to socialize. For example, if you have to move to the Netherlands, it will be nearly impossible to learn Dutch, which mean you will have to speak another language such as English, a more universal language. But as English is not either your mother tongue or the mother tongue of Dutch people boundary will surely appear when you will try to meet new persons and make new friends. But I am also convinced that speaking a foreign language with people from all around the globe will be one of the greatest way to learn more about different cultures and lifestyle, also I am sure it will help socialize with people who will be pleased to learn more about your origins. But afterwards I do agree with the last part of the statement about the practical problems. When attempting to a lecture, going to library or even going grocery shopping speaking a foreign language could become a real issue even more if the language is quite hard to understand. For example if you can’t read a label on a item you would like to buy or if you or not able to understand the lecture you was so please to go to life will soon become a lot more annoying. To sum up if you are planning on moving to a place where you will need to speak a foreign language daily I suggest choosing a place where you are able to understand and communicate well enough so that practical and social issues will become insignificant.