Some parents believe in skillset, while others believe in range of subjects.

Parents desire for their children to achieve big. Some are of the opinion that schools should work on children’s skillset, while others think that providing them with a variety of subjects is better for them to excel in future. I believe that polished skills can win you good opportunities but it also important that skills relevant to area of interest are emphasized on which can only happen once students know the subject they want to take forward after they have gained enough knowledge. On one hand, people think it would be better if schools focus on polishing children’s skillset so that they are able to apply them effectively once they are out in the practical world. Furthermore, skillful students would be able earn better and relatively at early stages since there are a lot jobs in market that are more interested in skillset than degree or theoretical knowledge. So, enhancing skills in early academic years means gaining expertise in that skill in a relatively shorter time. On the other hand, there are some people who think that it is better if the students are taught various subjects since this would allow them to identify their interests. If a student doesn’t know where their interest lies and is only focused on learning a fixed set of skills, they wouldn’t be able to discover different opportunities. It is easier to learn new things at early years of life since everything is new, so no unlearning needs to be done, as compared to the later stages when ample work has been done on one skill and it is later realized as a mistake. Therefore, providing range of subjects is better to keep options open. To conclude, developing skillset in the subject of interest is important as that would help in keeping the motivation and desire to learn alive otherwise things will get mundane.