To learn a foreign language successfully, it is important to spend timein the country where the language is spoken.

Learning languages is a relevant, highly debatable topic nowadays. Among the strategies of learning the language, one of the most controversial is if it is necessary to live in a country whith native speakers or it is possible to raise level effectively in the country of one's mother tongue. There are arguments supporting both sides but I strongly believe it is possible to learn a foreign language without living in the country of its origin or use. It is widely considered a myth that learning a new language can be done more efficient only with a native speaker being a teacher. That is why a common misconception - if I go there and live there, I will soak up the language passively by just being there - often occurs. But in fact, it is not true. It was shown by lots of success stories that not only a non-native English teacher can provide even more professional sources for a student to grow, but also just spending time in the country does not result with learning the language. To learn the language a person needs to actively study it, broaden vocabulary, practice grammar, develop reading and speaking skills, do listening in different contexts, etc. This is what should be beared in mind. Secondly, language learners can artificially imitate the surrounding around them by watching films, participating in lessons, reading books or news, finding a pen pal for practicing the language of their interest. It has the same effect as going abroad and if done regularly, proper and with some sufficient effort it will undoubtedly bring result quite soon and even cheaper than living abroad. To summarise, I believe, that it is not a must to live abroad to succeed in mastering a language. Being proficient and raising the level of a language can be done by thoroughly paying attention to the language, practising it and creating a similar to another country amount of language input and output.