To improve road safety there should be more severe punishments for drivers who break the rules.

It is argued that drivers who are against the regulations should be charged with the highest penalties to reduce road accidents. In my point of view, I somewhat agree because strong punishments can make drivers more heedful to be safe on roads and can also solve some traffic problems, however; there should be such kinds of penalties for careless commuters as only drivers cannot be accused of responsibility. The first reason why I believe that imposing harsh punishments on drivers who do not follow the protocols can avoid the danger is because these can significantly change careless behaviours of drivers. Due to the fact that most accidents are due to the lack of attention from drivers, there may be strong sanctions on dangerous behaviours like phone calls and listening to music that disturb drivers’ attention while driving. Besides, drinking and eating snacks while driving should be prohibited since these may also lead to unsafe roads. In some countries, as proof, as the government imposes a strong law on the carelessness of drivers, this results in a significant decline in traffic accidents. Another reason why I support that rule breakers should be punished with high penalties is because it is likely to reduce some traffic problems. On account of following disciplines on roads, there may be the potential to decrease traffic jams. Conversely, the responsibility to enhance road safety is related not only to drivers but also travellers. Although drivers pay full attention to driving, it may cause dangerous accidents due to the carelessness of travellers. To illustrate, as travellers wear headphones, listening to music, they may not see the upcoming danger. For this reason, travellers should be charged with harsh penalties if they break the disciplines. In conclusion, I partially agree that drivers who break the law should be sentenced with high penalties to ensure safe travel for everyone. This is because road accidents are mainly caused due to the falseness of drivers and partially by heedless commuters.