TURKEY AND THE EUROPEAN UNION

Whether Turkey should become a member of the European Union or not is a very controversial issue. Some people argue that Turkey should not become a member of the European Union; however, I totally disagree with this argument. In my opinion, Turkey should become a member of the European Union due to the increase in exports and the increase in quality because of competition. The first reason why Turkey should become a member of the European Union is the increase in exports. If Turkey becomes a member of the EU, there will be more trade between Turkey and European countries and this situation will cause an increase in exports. The second reason why Turkey should become a member of the European Union is the increase in quality due to competition. Being a member of the EU will bring new investments to Turkey. As a result of this situation, there will be competition and this competition will increase the quality of products. People thinking Turkey should not become a member of the European Union argue that being a member of the European Union increases the rate of inflation. As I mentioned above, being a member of the EU will increase in exports; moreover, being a member of the EU will bring new investments from Europe. Although if Turkey becomes a member of the EU, the rate of inflation will increase, Turkey’s economy will still improve because of new investments and the increase in exports. To sum up, I strongly believe that Turkey should become a member of the European Union because of increases in exports and in quality due to competition. In addition, I hope that the number of people thinking Turkey should not become a member of the European Union will decrease in the future.