To highlight some examples of the paraphrasing that I used in the lesson, I’ve left gaps in the questions, introductions and conclusions below. Fill each gap with the word that I used in the video. Correct answers can be found on page 3.

It is sometimes argued that high school students should be made to do some work in their local communities. While I disagree with the idea of making such programmes compulsory, I do believe that voluntary community service could benefit young people. There are several reasons why I would argue against having compulsory community service for secondary school students. Firstly, the school curriculum is already full with important academic subjects, such as maths, science and languages. For example, I remember having an extremely busy timetable when I was at high school, and it would not have been possible to add to it. Secondly, students’ performance in other subjects would be affected if valuable study time were taken by charity work or neighbourhood improvement schemes. Finally, I believe that teenage students would be reluctant to take part in any programme of obligatory work, and this could lead to poor motivation and even bad behaviour. On the other hand, the opportunity to do voluntary community service could be extremely positive for high school students. By making these programmes optional, schools would ensure that only motivated students took part. These young people would gain valuable experience in an adult working environment, which could help to build their self-confidence and enhance their skills. Having such experience and skills on their CVs could greatly improve school leavers’ career prospects. For example, a period of voluntary work experience might impress a university admissions officer or a future employer.