‘To conclude, history itself proves that violence has always been a part of our civilization, even before the advent of games and movies. Furthermore, the alarming rise of crime and violence is mostly the result of the frustration created by the modern lifestyle and games and movies are a very insignificant part of it. ’

Nowadays, with the rise in violence and crime all around us, some people believe that the violence shown in movies and video games has an influence, while others believe that it doesn’t. I believe that media violence does not have that much of an effect on the rising crime in society. Firstly, although I agree that the rate of crime and violence around us has increased lately, I don’t think we can blame the media violence for that. I am sure any responsible citizen who watches a movie or plays a video game with violence in it, is aware that it is there only for the sake of entertainment. That being said, in any case, if any individual does cause harm to his society, it would have to be due to his character or his circumstance. So in my opinion, a reasonable and conscious person would not cause harm to others, regardless of what he sees in any form of media. Moreover, movies and video games actually provide escapism into a virtual world where people can relax and release their anxiety. After a long day at work, when someone comes back home and watches a movie or plays a video game, they automatically forget about all their worries and tensions and recover from the frustration they may have. Personally, I enjoy playing video games as soon as I get back home from work. Finally, despite some people believing otherwise, I don’t believe that the violence shown in the media plays a role in a person’s character or in the increase of the violence and crime in our society. In fact, the content in the movies and videos can actually help in reducing the frustration and stress factor.