Throughout history people have dreamed of living in a perfect society but they have not agreed on what an ideal society would be like What do you think is the most important element of a perfect society in the modern world How can people work towards achi

It is often argued that TV can be educational, while others would argue that it is strictly for enjoyment. Although television programmes can teach us about the world, most people only watch shows that are of no educational value whatsoever and for this reason, I agree with the latter view. Documentaries can provide knowledge and give people a greater understanding of various topics, such as nature, history and science. This allows viewers to experience academic disciplines through a medium that is outside the classroom and, some might say, is more enthralling than a lecture or lesson from a teacher. For example, many tune in to the BBC’s wildlife documentaries and learn all sorts of new facts about animals that they might not have been interested in when at school. However, documentaries only represent a tiny fraction of what people actually watch on TV and I would argue that they are not representative of most television genres. The most popular types of TV show are soap operas, sit-coms and comedies that leave most people a little less intelligent after watching them. Due to the fact that they are aimed at a very wide audience, these shows appeal to the lowest common denominator intellectually. Furthermore, they prevent people from carrying out more cerebrally challenging tasks, such as thinking. For instance, the most popular programmes in the UK are Coronation Street and EastEnders and nearly 20 million daily viewers do not watch them to learn anything, they do so in order to be entertained. I therefore agree that, for the vast majority of people, the main function of TV is for entertainment only. In conclusion, despite a few wildlife and science programmes providing a good source of knowledge, the overwhelming majority of people watch TV for pleasure and that is its main use.