three most important factors influence customer's buying behavior

Consumer behavior refers to the selection, purchase and comsumption of goods and services for the satisfaction of their wants. What are the three most important factors that influence customer's buying behavior? The society we live in and the environment we are exposed to play an important role in how we make purchase decisions. Much like how advertisements coax us to try new products, people around us also play an important role in deciding consumer purchase behavior. Most of us can attest to having been influenced by the choices of our friends, acquaintances and colleagues. Think about it, how many clothes, shoes, accessories, electronics you have bought, based on suggestions of your friends and acquaintances. Additionally, a person’s social status also plays a role in how they purchase. People from a financially richer persuasion (upper middle class and upper class) are more likely to buy certain products than others (middle class and below). Cultural values are also important in defining the buying tendencies of people. For example, people of faith are more likely to purchase certain items over others. The country, state and language we speak play a role as well in shaping purchase decisions of customers. For example, Indians are more likely to buy white clothes before the festival of Holi. The sale of sweets, dry fruits and condiments also increases during the festive season.