Reflection about business culture, journalistic translation, culture, and literary translation

During the series of talkshow, I went through four themes including “Business culture in the contemporary business world” by Ph. D Phan Cong Chinh, “Journalistic translation” by M. A Nguyen Thanh Nam, “American pop culture” by Ph. D Hoang Thach Quan, and “Literary translation” by M. A Le Huy Loc. First and foremost, I would like to give a special thanks for the very informative sharing and meaningful conversation from the four guests, and I would like to give a special thanks for holding these useful talkshow by the teachers from the Faculty of English Linguistics and Literature as well. As expected, I have a general view of four themes regarding business, journalism, culture, and literature. I will share some of my observations and experience about the talkshow as follows. Firstly, my observation from the first speaker’s sharing demonstrates that business culture plays a vital role in small and large companies alike. Its aim is to make a connection among employees and enhance the quality and effectiveness of the company as a whole as well as promote its empowerment. In particular, each company creates their own business culture as core values which have a huge impact on every employee. As a fresher, we are distinct individuals with different personalities and perspectives, therefore, it’s essential to learn and be instructed in the core values of the company. As a result, we should know what to do to implement and express the core values effectively. Thus, the training department is supposed to be very important in training people about the mutual business culture regardless of being in any position. Business culture such as core values, mission statement, philosophy, or creed must be prioritized to form at the beginning. As my experience in a To me, as a will-be graduate, I must have awareness of my almost lack of experience and capacity. Then, I always show my can-do attitude and curiosity and don’t hesitate to ask for help if any difficulties with the hope to best-accomplish the work and contribute to the company’s development. Secondly, in terms of journalistic translation, it’s not merely translation from the source language to the target language, rather journalistic translators are supposed to collect, edit, and rewrite articles based on many resources in different newspapers in order to publish every type of news in accordance with journalistic style. The aim is to provide the production of news which is reasonable for the specific local audience and the journalistic norms in the region. The importance of copyright of the news in journalism is taken into consideration. The big newspaper offices in Vietnam, for example, almost buy the copyright of subscriptions or the exploitation of the resources, images of the overseas newspaper. Being students in translation and interpreting, we can apply for the collaborator position in some newspaper offices. However, we are not journalists, but translators, thus, we just provide the translation version. To be more professional in journalism, we must possess four requirements including faithfulness, accuracy, effectiveness, and clearness. When translating, editing, writing news, we should take some notice: the six questions principle of writing brief news (who, what, when, where, why, how), the different title between English news and Vietnamese news, and the regular research and update on new terms. Thirdly, regarding American pop culture, I was introduced to the two distinct definitions of “Culture” and “cultures”. The cultural framework between Vietnam and America is different, therefore, if we want to understand and not to misunderstand the event, we should put it in the proper context and put on the cultural lens of that particular country. The Donald Trump phenomenon