Threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the dis advantages.

The menace of nuclear arsenals maintains peace around the world. Some would argue that nuclear energy is cost effective and clean, and it has more advantages than disadvantages. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because despite being efficient, it always generates harmful waste products after energy production, and the use of these stockpiles could be catastrophic to the planet. It is true that nuclear power is cheap, but it is not clean because it spreads toxic by-products into the environment. That is to say that once the energy is produced from nuclear power, it often leaves dangerous after-products that emits radiation into the atmosphere, and it affects adversely on humans as well as all the living organisms. As a result, handling and disposal of these waste products are dangerous, and it bothers all the nations. For example, in 2008, an accident reported in one of the nuclear power plants in France contaminated almost 100 workers in the plants with hazardous radiation which was almost life threatening to them. Another reason to prove nuclear technology is dangerous is that the use of these weapons could be devastating, and the entire plant would be destroyed. This is because nuclear weapons are extremely powerful as it emits strong radiation, and are able to cause harm to all living things, even using smaller amounts. If any nation uses this arsenal, it is not only distrust the nation against which they used it, but also affects the neighbouring nations too. For instance, a recent documentary on the BBC showed that almost 92% of nuclear weapon stockpiles are owned by the USA and the USSR, and a single piece from this stock could be a havoc to the planet. In conclusion, although nuclear weapons keeps world peace and provides cheap energy, I believe it has more demerits than merits because it releases toxic waste products into the environment, and even a single use of nuclear weapon could be apocalyptical for the entire universe.