Think about the first time you arrived in a new country or new city. It could be a special trip you took for few days or an extended experience for education or living purpose. Describe your first visit to a new country or new city.

It happened last March 27, 2018 when I travelled with my friends to Ohio, Usa for my summer work and travel and at the same time my on the job training. It was a 3 months sojourn in Sandusky, Ohio and this trip really changed my life. I could never forget how elated I am when we arrived in Cleveland safely after a long flight. The exhilarating feeling when finally, I saw those huge buildings in the city of Cleveland. The cold weather and even those melted snow on the side of the streets. It was my first time to experience winter season that’s why I felt excited since I grew up in a tropical country. I was also grateful that time because there are people who are really kind and they really helped and guide us to reach our destination safely. Since our apartment was provided by the company that we’d worked on, it was easy for us to settle and adjust. I worked as a Sales Associate Merchandiser in Cedar Point Amusement Park and my job was enjoyable because it was related to Business Marketing course which I studied back then. I learned a lot from my supervisor and I also met a lot of friends from different countries. We shared about our cultures, language and about our home countries which was fascinating. My expectations were far from what I saw and experienced. I expected to live in a place like New York City where I am surrounded by massive buildings, noises from the vehicles, the beauty of city lights in the evening and the busy streets which I usually saw in the Hollywood movies but it was really far from what I expected. Sandusky is a peaceful place where it is surrounded by nature and a lake called Erie. This place is beautiful as I was always astonished by the Sunset in Lake Erie were the lake turned gold as the sun reflected the water. My friends and I called it a golden time. The sound of the birds and how the huge trees danced as the wind blows was refreshing. How free the adorable wild rabbit and ducks amazed me the most because you can see them walking freely on the side of the lake even on their parks. I was amazed because I only saw rabbits inside the caged in my country and this experience made me happy. My decision to join the summer work and travel was quite hard for me since it was my first time to be far from my family, to get out of my comfort zone and to live in a new unfamiliar place but it was the best decision I’ve ever had. In a short period of time, I’ve learned a lot of things; I’ve met new people and made new friendship that I will treasure forever. The memories and struggles that I experienced from this trip sculpted me to be a better person. That’s why among my first visits, I chose to describe and share my experience about this trip because it the most memorable one for me.