SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT UNPAID COMMUNITY SERVICE SHOULD BE A COMPULSORY PART OF HIGHSCHOOL PROGRAMS.

Many citizens do not consider that ad honorem community service should be an obligatory subject in school. In my view all teenagers should work for their town, this could be as easy as cleaning up the neighbourhood, teaching sports for young kids or reading books for the elderly at nursing homes. Before graduation volunteer jobs should be compulsory but despite not getting paid they should certainly receive credits and positive references for entering the university. From a social point of view, working for others as a volunteer can make you interact and gain new friends as you do so. Organizing events for charity institutions or sports activities for kids would prepare teenagers for adult life which is practically a coordinated and demanding tight schedule. Helping your neighbour can be very fulfiling and this actions can also cure and prevent teenager depression, drugadiction, alcoholism and can even get kids away from stealing and commiting crimes. Ir is for sure community service consume studying and playing hours but it also teaches time management and socializing skills. When my kids were 12 and 14 they used to spend lots of hours playing video games, chatting with friends online and eating junk food. They were helpful, lovely kids but they had become couch potatoes and I did not know what to do to help. After reading and investigating for some weeks I proposed the school principal a list of activities for their advanced classes to do. I wanted to help not only my boys but also the rest of their classmates. I organized small jobs such as, reading books for senior neighbours, gardening activities downtown, joining the red cross and the school accepted the proposal and since then many kids have earned credits and skills not only for university but mainly for adulthood. As a teenager specialist, as I consider myself after raising two now social and adapted to community grownups, community service is a rock in our personality construction, it is needed to grow healthy and being able to adapt and be part of a community full of other to interact so it should be compulsory at highschool in every school of the world.