Some people believe that allowing children to make decisions on every day choices such as food, clothes, entertainment will result in a society of individuals who think only of themselves, others are of the opinion that decision should be made about issues which affect them.

Certain individuals opine that granting children the liberty to make daily choices like food, clothings and entertainment would likely result in a society of selfish individuals. However, others believe that it is trivial to decide about matters affecting them. I believe, that parents should guide them in making important decisions. On the one hand, some individuals believe that giving children the freedom to make choices results in an environment of self centered people. Because, when children are allowed to have what they want, it makes them to request for more. Thus, they would want more clothes, food, and extra Leisure time, therefore they become selfish and do not think about emotions of others. To illustrate, a child who is always allowed to watch cartoons in the sitting room, may want to continue viewing his cartoons even when visitors are present and his parents decide to stop him from watching. On the other hand, others opine that it is necessary to decide for children. If decisions are made for them, it aids them to make right choices and avoid been influenced by peers. For instance, a child may want an item his friends have, but his family can not afford them. Hence, he will be counselled on the need of been contented. Furthermore, in my opinion children should be guided to make important decisions. If choices are to be made about career, it is important to guide them so they don't make choices that can be detrimental to their future. Therefore, from childhood a child can be groomed into what his parents want him to be in future. For example, a survey of undergraduates in a law faculty revealed that most scholars choosed studying law and are satisfied because their parents prepared them for the role. In conclusion, I believe that parents should guide children in making decisions, although they can be allowed to make choices in less trivia issues, but they should be thought to respect feelings of others.