There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In the recent times, periodic examinations have become a preferred way to assess students compared to regular assessments. While this may benefit in making students sincere and competitive, there are also some drawbacks to be considered. Firstly, one benefit is that exams bring a great level of sincerity in students to achieve success as they are often conducted in a formal set up and require thorough preparation. Having a sincere approach to study is the key to effective learning and growth. Secondly, as exams are standardized and organized at central level, it helps students compete directly with other schools. This prepares them for their future, when as adults, they will have to face a similar situation in the job market. For example, IT companies regularly conduct logic ability and written communication exams for aspirants as a first level of screening prior to interviewing them. On the other side, one issue is that students do not get a chance to have a regular feedback and improve, which is only possible with continued assessment methods. This may deprive students a chance to incrementally improve and focus on their weak areas. Another problem is that exams bring a high level of stress in students without judging their key abilities, which leads to mental health issues in children. To illustrate, in a recent survey conducted by the ABC research among students from grade 6th to 8th in the UK, 40% were stressed due to their examinations and had to seek medical advice. In conclusion, while exams can work as an effective way of assessment, it can also lead to lack of timely feedback and high stress among students.