These days, traveling to isolated natural regions, such as the South pole, is viable for scientists and tourists.

These days, traveling to isolated natural regions, such as the South pole, is viable for scientists and tourists. While this trend can bring about some benefits, I strongly believe that its drawbacks are more worrisome. On the one hand, it is undeniable that touristic and scientific expeditions produce negative effects on isolated natural places. To begin with, many conservation programs have been successfully initiated by scientists thanks to their expertise and dedication. To cite an example, by carrying out field trips to Antarctica, scientists have been able to gain deep insights into the mating habits of animals that are on the brink of extinction such as polar bears and penguins. As a result, they can research methods to boost the fertility rate of these animals. Therefore, biodiversity will be maintained. Meanwhile, trips to remote areas serve as an exotic gateway for tourists as they are too acquainted with popular tourist locations. Thus, when traveling to these areas, they can have an opportunity to liberate themselves from their monotonous daily living, which, in turn, contributes positively to their mental well-being as well as gains valuable experiences and broadens their horizons. However, I believe that the advantages of this trend are eclipsed by its threats to isolated regions, with the most obvious drawbacks being environmental pollution. It is attributed to the fact that human interferences have always been deemed responsible for detrimental effects on the environment and visitors or scientists are not exceptions. For instance, the construction of observation sites or accommodations is considered a prerequisite to facilitate science projects, which can emit carbon and other exhaust fumes into the atmosphere. Similarly, the presence of visitors may result in an excessive amount of waste owing to improper behaviors. Consequently, as vulnerable as the ecosystems of these areas are, touristic and scientific expeditions can cause permanent damages to the environment such as air pollution, water contamination, and land degradation as well as the creatures living in these places. In conclusion, although tourists and scientists traveling to remote areas can bring about several benefits, I strongly believe that it poses more pressing existential threats to the environment and natural habitats than its advantages.