Many students take a gap year before starting university for traveling or gaining job experience. Do you agree or are you think it’s a waste of time?

These days, there are many students who tend to take a gap year before starting university. They make this decision in order to travel to some new places or have a part-time job. I am in favor of this idea, and in this essay, I’m going to support my opinion. The main advantage of taking a gap year is having enough time to take a rest. Students can enjoy this period of time hanging out with their family and friends, since they had to spend their time studying for their exams or doing their assignments when they were at school. Moreover, if they take a gap year, they do not have to submit projects to their instructors, and preparing themselves for numerous presentations at university. In addition, students can focus on their interests during this time. For instance, they can attend classes they like, or they can travel to destinations they have never gone. Another positive of taking a gap year is having time to think about the future. Pupils can think about the major which they want to study at university. Furthermore, they have the opportunity to consider their job prospect, in order to find the most suitable career for themselves. Unfortunately, however, in some countries like Iran students have to study more for their university entrance exam even if they take a gap year. As a result, there is no difference between the students Who take a gap year and who do not, owing to the fact that none of them have time to do what they want. In conclusion, taking a gap year before university is a good idea, as it gives people time to spend on whatever they want, so all the educational systems should offer students this opportunity, in order to visit new places, take a rest, and do what they cannot do if they study.