These days, there is an ongoing debate that children should be rewarded for their good behaviours, while others claim that, they should be punished for bad behaviour. In my personal opinion, both of those views have more disadvantages than advantages

These days, there is an ongoing debate that children should be rewarded for their good behaviours, while others claim that, they should be punished for bad behaviour. In my personal opinion, both of those views have more disadvantages than advantages. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view, by analysing both sides of the arguments. Rewarding a child for good behaviour is often supported by multiple citizens. In the one hand, it could be beneficiary by encouraging the children, to behave well and be supportive to elders. For Instance, if a student accoladed for doing regular studies and securing a good score in the tests, it may inspire him to put more efforts to do better than before, in upcoming tests. However, it may encourage them to blackmail elders to get some benefit, for their each good did and they may threat of not conducting well otherwise. Additionally, it may make their mind conditioning, because of which, they may not like trying anything new in future, where they can’t see the prizes beforehand. Therefore, although awarding system has its own benefits, it should be used as an occasional option, it should not become habitual. In contrary, those who argue for punishing children for their bad performances, have a different view. Punishments could be such as: physical harassment, mentally creating fear, taking away their favourite food or toys, stopping to communicate with them. In case suppose, if a younger one, not completing his homework on a regular basis, punishing them not to watch TV for three days in that week, may help them focusing more on their studies. What I afraid is, it may instantly bring corrections in a child’s behaviour but it might not create a lasting impression. Moreover, the child may learn to make others do things forcefully, which may greatly affect his own personality. Furthermore, out of extreme fear or frustration, they may start distancing themselves from those elders, instead of learning an intended gesture. So definitely, these can not be measured as an appropriate solution. In conclusion, even though both by rewarding or punishing, for their behaviour, children can be influenced for a shorter period of time, I would strongly recommend that, they are not the only ways. Instead, if we can make anything interesting, play like and can convey the importance of both good and bad behaviours, that will create a greater impact. Young minds, as the future citizens of the country, should be taught, how to work dedicatedly, without any expectations from anyone or with fear of any consequences. Which will not only help them to grow into responsible human beings but also building a better nation.