These days some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go to sporting or events. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Over the past half-century, the issue of whether to spend one’s hard earned wages on sporting events such as football, basketball or rugby matches or use it wisely in terms of investing or savings has become a matter of concern in many cities. While some think that sporting event tickets are far too expensive, others stand firmly against this belief. This essay will discuss why the benefits of attending sport or cultural occasions are actually worth more than the original price of the ticket using appropriate examples. On the one hand those ardent music and sports fans who attend concerts, gigs, matches or athletic competitions happily extol the virtues of these on their overall well-being, both physical and mental. Also, by watching, participating and enjoying a game people’ stress levels can be radically reduced. Moreover, a recent article published by the Harvard Business Review showed that top executives in the 500 Fortune companies had invested in tickets for basketball games not only for themselves but for their clients aiming to seek distraction and amusement while entertaining and nurturing future business contacts. Thus, such events have become a noteworthy opportunity for socializing or networking. On the other hand, if money is no object, then there is overwhelming evidence that going to festivals, attending concerts is a growing trend which is appreciated because of its ability to build fond memories which last a lifetime and become part of a family’s history. For instance, a recent survey conducted in a university in the United Kingdom revelated that majority of the students had attended Micheal Jackson’s concert when they were younger, and considered it to be a memorable day for them and their families. Therefore, the emotional value of such events cannot be overstated. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe that despite the frequently high prices of attending sport and cultural events, these occasions have more a positive influence on people than a negative one.