These days, problems with pollution are becoming worse, particularly in large cities. What are the reasons for this and how can this be solved?

Nowadays, pollution in urban areas is a global concern. Carbon footprint and failure of waste management are two major driven factors behind the increase of pollution. This essay will elaborate these causes and will suggest plausible way forward. Firstly, carbon footprint is increasing in an record level around the world and urban areas are at major risk. To be precise, the carbon emission in the cities are higher due to the hectic pace of city life. For instance, citizen use transportation system like bus, car etc in day to day life which produce a large amount of carbon dioxide. In addition to that, increased number of factories are causing direct air pollution. To tackle such issues, draconian measures related to carbon emission need to be taken by the government. For example, in some parts of South Africa, vehicle that produce carbon dioxide was banned in one day notice earlier this year. If extra tax and penalties are added to citizen and business entitles for carbon emission immediately, then everyone will take an active role to safeguard the environment. Secondly, waste disposal in city areas may cause air pollution. This is to refer that a large landfill may produce poisonous gas in the area, as well as unhealthy odor. Not only the experts, but also general people living in such condition has pointed it out the quality of air as unhygienic in number of interviews. A way forward from this challenge would be to remove landfills that are inside the city. As long as the landfills are far from human locality, people will have a much fresh air to breath in. For instance, a recent study has reported that after the landfill was removed from the south of Delhi, people living in the neighborhood were not complaining about odor anymore and the rate of patients coming to see doctor for health concern dropped dramatically. To conclude, carbon emission and waste disposal are causing encironmental problems and authority must take necesary step before it is too late. After the above discussion, we can suggest that imposing high charges against carbon emission and removing landfill from the locality can be a solution to keep the environment pollution free.