These days, people are bombarded with advertisements on various types of the media. Views differ on the implications of advertising

These days, people are bombarded with advertisements on various types of the media. Views differ on the implications of advertising, but I would argue that there are both positives and negatives in equal measure. On the one hand, there are three primary benefits of advertising to society. First, thanks to commercials, customers can be informed of newly-launched products. In other words, they are aware of the array of selections available to their demands; otherwise, they are confined to only a narrow range of products. Another noticeable advantage is that companies can approach prospective customers, capturing more market share and business growth. In addition, the expansion of advertising in various forms creates far-reaching employment opportunities, ranging from designing, photography to content-writing. On a large scale, advertising serves as a bridge between manufacturers and customers, expanding business opportunities and raising living standards. Despite the aforementioned merits, advertising could pose some threats to customers. First, advertising can be deceiving. Marketers can employ tricks and gimmicks to incite people to buy products which can be of poor quality, leading to great dissatisfaction among buyers. Furthermore, advertising drives up the price of products. This is because the selling price of marketed items need to cover the advertising expenses. In addition, advertising tempts people to purchase unnecessary things. Customers might find it hard to resist the temptation of products which are advertised way beyond their expectations. In conclusion, the development of businesses has given rise to the growing number of advertisements, and this trend is, in my opinion, advantageous as well as detrimental.