Today, some families are not eating meals together on a daily basis. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that in the modern-day, many families no longer have a routine of sitting together around the table for a meal. While some reasons can be explained clearly for the disappearance of this custom, I believe that this trend has negative consequences. There are some obvious reasons to explain why the tradition of the daily family meal is incompatible with modern lifestyles. Firstly, in the day and age, everything is developing to become a growth country. This means that changes in society have resulted in various arrangements. For instance, there are now many single-parents households, in contrast, dual-income families in which both parents work. In these circumstances, settled routines such as regular mealtimes become impossible. Secondly, family members – especially children – tend to establish patterns of behaviour, which become more important than sharing mealtimes together. Particularly, they frequently tend to time to watch TV or electronic media. I would argue that it is a mistake to accept such new customs when the changes are clearly not for the better. In terms of providing the family with a healthier diet, eating homemade food together around the dining table each day, this is now disappearing. Instead of eating a balanced diet, family members have a snack in front of the TV, they always consume numerous fast-food chains out of the street, hence, it leads to their bodies becoming fatter, and also have numerous issues related to health is not good for them. Another negative be less parental involvement with their children during those formative years which shape a child’s personality. In conclusion, although modern lifestyles explain the disappearance of the daily mealtime shared by families around the table, I believe that this trend will be more abuse mealtimes to get their individual privacy. Moreover, this trend has negative consequences and contributes to the growth of dysfunctional families.