These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In modern times the traditional gender roles are changing rapidly, resulting in more fathers staying at home looking after their offspring and mothers becoming the main breadwinners in the family. There are numerous causes for this and I think it’s a step in the right direction. In the past few decades, there have been numerous women’s movements, as a result of which conventional gender roles have gone through a paradigm shift. Although this equality was only acquired after long hard battles fought by women’s right groups against the misogynist practices that existed a few decades ago. Furthermore, in past few decades, we also had a fair share of men’s movements whose main aim was to make men get in touch with their feminine side rather than feel ashamed and disgusted with it. Nonetheless in many parts of the world and in fact in the minds of many people across the globe, such a family system is considered to be an insult to a man’s masculinity but I beg to differ with this school of thought. In my view, it is a blessing to be living in a time in history where both males and females can choose to take on whatever role they decree. And since it has been proven beyond a shadow of a doubt that women can do most jobs just as good, if not better than their male counterparts there’s nothing wrong with mothers taking on roles that are traditionally thought to be men-oriented. All in all, due to successful women’s and men’s movements deep into the last millennia, genders roles are getting swapped and I am of strong opinion that these changes are a blessing.