These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

With the socio-economic development, breadwinner fathers and stay-at-home mothers are on a decline. There are many causes behind this trend and in my opinion, this is could be considered as a positive change rather than negative. It is undeniable that the global economy is going down. Many men workers have been sacked, and as a consequence, they stay at home, do household chores and take care of children. At the same time, women are more encouraged to work, by the government policies such as maternity leave, high salaries, and shortened the working hours. Another reason why husband role has been changed in recent years is the acceptance of the society for them to become nannies instead of going to work and support the family. Personally, I think this change in father’s and mother’s traditional role could have many benefits. Firstly, in many cases mothers have a better qualification and job opportunities than their partners, then it seems more sensible them going out to work. Secondly, if fathers stay at home and look after children, it would become an important contribution in their children's upbringing, which could play a vital role in children’s future when they become teenagers and face problems that would be hard for mothers to handle. For example, it is rare to find boys or girls who have a close relationship with their fathers and making troubles or unsuccessful in their lives. In conclusion, there are different reasons why fathers are becoming more responsible for taking care of children while mothers are busy with the financial support of the family. And I believe this could be useful for the whole family.