These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that nowadays more men are looking after their children at home while more women have become responsible for the family’s financial aspects. There are many reasons for this, and I believe that it is a negative trend. The main reason for this phenomenon is related to social factors. By this, I mean that the equality between male and female in the modern society has opened the door for more women to gain qualifications and to get good opportunities at work. For illustration, women who work as a nurse or a doctor receive a large sum of money compared to men who work in other fields. These reveals a structure change in gender roles in the family and at work. Another cause for more men to do housework is the economic crisis of present era. Financial problems inside the family force parents to going out and looking for a job to be able to cover the living cost. In my opinion, this is completely contrary development. Firstly, in many cultures men are considered to be the breadwinner for the family and women should do the upbringing of children. Secondly, kids should stay longer with their mother; this is what is suggested by researchers in a recent study. They have approved that children who left their first five years for a long time deteriorated at school, later on, suffer mental stress than youngsters whose mothers stay at home to look after them. In conclusion, fathers’ position in the family has significantly changed due to many reasons, and I believe that it is a totally unacceptable development.