These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Nowadays, spending time overseas has become more and more popular. In fact, taking a year out to live or study has been increasingly a controversial topic in society. Indeed, there are both pros and cons regarding this matter/related to this, which I will be discussing in this essay. First of all, the most beneficial thing about overseas life is it could broaden your horizons. For instance, when people travel abroad, they will have the opportunity to learn many things and meet and communicate with different kinds of people with various cultural backgrounds. They try to cope with foreign customs and traditions that can make them to be more rounded people. Secondly, working abroad is an effective experience for personal skill development. These higher levels of skills can help us deal with some work-related problems easily as well as for our promotion. Furthermore, with the high demand in society, most people face high pressure from work and life. With the different kind of environment, these people can experience ways on how to achieve work-life balance. In addition, this could help them to have a better quality of life. On the other hand, there is no doubt that living in another country also has some shortcomings. Firstly, for instance, when some youth chooses to make academic education in universities in foreign countries, they would start a new life from scratch under many cultural differences. Most of them feel hard at the start. Moreover, due to the huge language barrier, people tend to have a sense of isolation when they communicate with foreigners. Lack of social life leads people to feel depressed and homesick. These problems are common to people who stay abroad. In conclusion, I think it is a bit of a challenge for most people who take a year abroad mainly because of the huge cultural differences. To ensure that we get higher benefits from it, we must make sufficient preparations before we go abroad.