These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Nowadays, the surplus amount of people is moving abroad for higher studies and work. However, there are few positives and negatives to look into before moving to abroad. In this essay, let’s discuss more about the benefits we enjoy as well as the challenges that we need to overcome during our stay in abroad. Let’s begin with the advantages; firstly, we will get exposure to new people, new culture and food habits they prefer along with a better lifestyle. Secondly, the education standards are good; we can get hands-on experience rather than theoretical knowledge and we can develop our communication abilities. Above all, the value of the currency is higher when compared to our currency; it will help settle our debts more quickly and we will get more job opportunities with higher pay on our return to home country. Turning to the disadvantages, we need to start our life from the scratch. To be more precise, we need to search for new friends and adapt to their culture. This process will take time and can be challenging if there is a language barrier. Every country has its own language, first of all we need to learn them in order to survive and to secure a job if you want to settle there permanently. In some countries, people will not even respond to you if you spoke other languages that their mother tongue. Another issue is the climatic conditions. Some countries have hot climates and some have cold climates. People from hot countries like India will suffer a lot in cold countries until they are adapted to the new climate. To conclude, as per the proverb “when in Rome, do as the Romans Do”, we have to follow the conventions of the country in which we are residing or visiting to survive there. Moving to abroad have both advantages and disadvantages, but if you want to lead a successful life we need to tackle the disadvantages.