These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Building a career usually involves deciding where to live and study. Most times, making this decision requires hours and days of thinking about the pros and cons of staying at or moving away from your home country. One of the benefits of advancing your career or education in a different country is the exposure it gives you to a different culture. The world is a global village. Most of the top companies have branches scattered across continents, and prefer to employ who have study or work experience in other countries. These leading organizations believe that experiencing the way of life in another country enables a person to work better with colleagues from various regions. Furthermore, living or studying in another country provides a person with the opportunity to learn a new language. It is definitely easier to pick up a new language when immersed in a society that speaks it fluently: the native speakers. On the flip side, one of the major downsides to leaving your country is being homesick. Keeping in touch with family and friends becomes increasingly difficult the moment you are no longer within the same country. It usually takes a while to make new friends in a new environment. This tends to leave a person feeling lonely especially during the holidays, when you cannot have the company of your classmates or colleagues. Another disadvantage is the cost of being qualified to work in a country that does not recognize your current qualifications. For instance, a Doctor who has been working in Nigeria will have to write a few exams before he is allowed to practice in USA. In conclusion, despite the drawbacks of studying or working abroad, I believe the benefits far outweigh them.