These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

There is now an increasingly popular trend of people choosing to work and study overseas for most of their lives. As with most important decisions, there are both advantages and disadvantages to this. This essay will look at some of the benefits and drawbacks of living and working in a foreign country. There is a belief that people who decide to live and work in another country can have more chance to get a higher - quality living standard. First of all, many people believe that by working overseas, they will earn higher incomes. Currencies in such countries tend to be stronger than in the migrant’s homeland and so money can be sent back to families in the form of remittances. These will enable the family to have a better standard of living. Second, some people are moving to another country due to in the new country, their children will get a better education environment. Most parents from Asian countries want their children study in good and educated countries. The main reason is the education standard of these countries are high, which effects on students directly. And of course, when a student will get education in good standards school or college, in result their children will become a good human. Despite all the positive things about working overseas and bringing the family members, there are some negative things that people should notice. Firstly, while it may be that at first people might be excited about being in a foreign country, ultimately they might suffer from culture shock, which can be extremely unpleasant. They might wish to return to their own country but perhaps this is financially impossible. Homesickness is a very common feeling. Furthermore, people often have to study in a foreign language, which may limit their performance and mean they do not attain their true level. For instance, if someone cannot speak the language fluently yet, they may face communication problems. In conclusion, although there are some challenges that people may meet along the way, it is worthwhile to experience living and working abroad.