These days, many children read very few books during their childhood. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to encourage children to read more books?

Nowadays, due to the development of addictive games and apps, most of the children read less and less books compare to the previous generations. This assay will analysis the causes and also explain the actions that should be taken to improve the situation. As social media and smart-phone apps have become so popular in resent years, children tend to spend most of their time on them. For example, children are more likely to play computer games rather than read books in their free time. At the same time, paper books are very expansive in developed countries such as the UK and the USA. So low-income families can’t afford to buy books for their children. Last but not least, as the education system of some countries put pressures on young children, they have to attend lots of classes at school or in their free time. This means the amount of time for reading is reduced. To overcome this problem, government should provide more free books by building more public libraries. At the same time, government should subsidize low-income families to buy book. In addition, apps companies should limit the usage of apps for their underage users. Parents should also build bookshelves and buy books for their children to develop good reading habits. Lastly, government should adjust the education system so that young children can have more time reading books at school or back home. In conclusion, develop good reading habits for children is very important to their future studies. Therefore, government, teachers and parents should fully support them.