These days in many countries

Many years ago, teaching in a high school was considered an extremely well-respected and popular job. However, in many parts of the world, there has been a sharp drop in the number of young people who want to become high-school teachers. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions. One of the main causes of the problem is that teachers` salaries are lower than many other jobs. Teachers` pay has not kept pace with that of other professions, such as lawyer or medical doctors’. Take the UK for instance, a doctor with a five year experience earns far more than a teacher with the same experience. The solution is for the government to raise teachers` pay significantly, which would attract the majority of people into the profession. Another problem is that teachers often have excessive work to do. Most teachers are snowed under with marking and paperwork, as a consequence they have to stay late at school and work at home in the evening. As a result, many teachers are tired and stressed, and their job has an adverse effect on their family life. The way forward could be to cut teachers` hours and to take on more teaching assistants as it would make teaching an easier job. All things considered one can conclude that teaching has become a much less popular job in many countries due to some reasons. This is a serious problem and unless we can get more talented young people to become teachers, the education of our children will suffer. To my way of thinking, to address this issue, both the government and parents should carry the main responsibility