The world’s air pollution levels are rising year on year. What are the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend? What should humanity do to counter this problem?

In this day and age, air pollution rising at an alarming rate in world’s cities. This trend certainly causes a great number of difficulties. This essay will look at some of them and propose several solutions that can possibly be taken by both authorities and individuals to solve these problem. It is generally agreed that air pollution is caused by burning of fossil fuels. When fossil fuels are burned, they release nitrogen oxides into the atmosphere, which contribute to the formation of smog and acid rain. Air pollution has now emerged in developing countries as a result of industrial activities and also increase the private transportation. Thus, people have to overuse the natural resources to supply these enormous demand. In addition to, daily human activities also depend on fossil fuels like driving cars, using electricities, … It is of note that three billion people around the world are using the above sources of energy for their daily heating and cooking requirement. Firstly, air pollution may cause the adverse impact on health. Air pollution is considered as the major environmental risk factor in the incidence and progression of some diseases such as asthma, lung cancer, Alzheimer's and Parkinson's diseases, , autism, respiratory diseases and low birth weight. Air pollution threatens the health of people in many parts of the world and new estimates reveal that million people breath air containing high levels of pollutants. Secondly, similar to people, entire ecosystems have to suffer effects from air pollution. Air pollution can contaminate the surface of bodies of water and soil. This can kill crops or reduce their yield even destroy young trees and other plants. To counter this problem, we must stop burning fossil fuel and alternative energy sources should be exploited. The key factor is that alternative energy sources do not cause as much pollution as the burning of fossil fuels, such as oil or coal. Green power sources from wind, solar power, … are eco-friendly and do not contribute to air contamination. As a result, air quality would be ameliorated, environmental problems might be solved while we also guarantee a boundless supply of energy for the future generation. In conclusion, I consider that poor air quality can be tackled by increasing use of renewable energy. Besides, everybody must join hand to reduce air pollution and build up a green environment.