My worries about starting at a new school

I spent 13 years of my life as a student studying Vietnamese education, from kindergarten to high school. I believe it’s a lengthy and sufficient period for me to comprehend the majority of things in this style of schooling. Once there is nothing new to me, I would rather seek a new one than just staying in that framework. In this day and age, it is increasingly easy to go abroad for those who are dissatisfied with their current circumstances and want to engage in a new education. I’m no exception, in order to get additional knowledge and experience, I opted to study overseas and Australia is my next destination. Although there are many undeniable positives to this trend such as linguistic environment and employment prospects, there are also some doubted negatives that concern me a lot. First and foremost, the most difficult hurdles, I suppose, are the language barriers and cultural differences. Despite the fact that I’ve been learning English for nearly 3 years and I’m able to communicate in English, I still lack the confidence to speak with native speakers. When I learn and interact with this language more, I discover that there are several aspects such as slang, synonyms and technical terms that require me to know and utilize naturally as a native speaker. Furthermore, these days, migration is growing more prevalent as people seek a better life, new experiences or due to socio-political factors. That’s why English is not a unique language there and I’m afraid of being lost in a group of people who are passionate about talking in their language and forget that I can’t understand it. Similarly, there are cultural differences. Without a doubt, Australia is much more different compared to my home country which is Vietnam. Apparently, because there are not many Vietnamese there and Australia is a multi-cultural country. So, I guess that integrating into that society is also one of the major obstacles that I have to face off. Anyhow, I should establish and maintain an open mind so that I can overcome these barriers. Another worrying difficulty that I have to suffer is homesickness. Honestly, I really love my family and can fathom how bad it is when being geographically apart from them. Every day at home, I have meals with my family, gambol with my siblings whenever we have spare time or hold a family gathering for every festival and holiday. I’ve been used to this sensation for a long time and suddenly everything around me changes and be unfamiliar, I wonder how I will cope. Furthermore, my support network is usually my family but if I live far away from them, my support will be also thousands of miles away from me. Regardless of this difficulty, I believe that if I keep a good attitude and positive mindset, I will be able to adapt and build up a new support network for myself. In brief, studying overseas is not always trouble-free, but it’s an international exposure and an interesting experience unlike any other. It’s also my decision and I have to take responsibility for it. Therefore, I always encourage and motivate myself to be tough and seize this opportunity for my long-term goal.