These days, governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas due to overcrowding problems related to accommodation and transportation. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that many major cities across the world are facing housing and public transit problems because of high population density in those areas. In light of these problems, the governments are now suggesting new businesses and companies to move and open in rural communities. In my opinion, encouraging businesses to migrate to small towns hold more advantages than disadvantages. The major concern with businesses concentrating in a metropolitan city is overpopulation as more and more people flocks to cities in an attempt to earn more money. If the government’s suggested plan for potential businesses is achieved, regional areas may see tremendous developments in infrastructure and facilities as well as the job opportunities and hence, raising the living standards of the rural people. This gives rural areas an economic stability and increases the likelihood of growing into a business city. Furthermore, major corporate businesses moving to small towns may attract the potential employees from big cities to come settle in countryside. This, in turn, solve the problems of overpopulation in major cities. On the other hand, relocating businesses to rural towns have negative impacts on the city dwellers. One possible concern is sudden narrowing of job positions which will cause the unemployment rate to skyrocket. If the government cannot handle this properly, the situation may take a worse turn which can have deteriorating effects on the economy of the nation. Another disadvantage is that moving a business can be expensive and cost unnecessary expenses. Small businesses, in particular, may find it hard to adapt to changes and trends. This can eventually lead to businesses shutting down or go bankrupt. In conclusion, I believe that businesses moving to small towns has more benefits as rural communities can develop and people can enjoy equal living standards and adequate income. However, it is also important that the governments take enough preventive measures to ensure that the nation’s economy does not suffer from the moving of businesses.