These days films and songs are easily available online. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that in this contemporary era movies as well as music is readily accessible on the internet. While to some extent, getting easy access to World Wide Web to download data has given people some laxity to watch or listen but I also think it has made few others face some insuperable issue. On the one hand, there are some positive sides of this effortless downloading of audios and videos. Firstly, by doing so data becomes accessible to more audience as technology is able to reach to all income groups of society and people can get them round the clock and anywhere by virtue of which any promoter can build reputation with name and fame worldwide. Secondly, this method is convenient for users as there is no need to store cassettes or disks for watching films and listening songs because it can be down by just one click on the computer. Also, a person can search huge database and browse according to his choice, need and taste. Finally, the cost of getting music and videos has come down dramatically as compared to golden era and folks can downloaded any movie or song at minor charges and even they can use price comparison websites to save money. On the other hand, I believe that there are also some negative impacts of these easily achievable audio and video recordings. First reason is that this easy access of information gives enhancement to illegal downloads or piracy which certainly harm the music and film industries as individuals tend to break copyright acts. For instance, a survey pointed that music industry has lost 90% of its revenue in last decade due to replacement of compact disks with online media. Moreover, this readily available music and videos make people unproductive and reduces their economic productivity as by the dint of this they are wasting their precious time watching nonsensical movies and songs online spending long hours which in turn becomes detrimental to their health if they continue doing this. Lastly, it also arises many security issues due to many fake websites and when people subscribe to free online movies and music they get indulged into phishing scams due to which their credit card details get shared and viruses are introduced in their laptops or computers. In conclusion, no doubt free availability of this online multimedia brings benefits for the audience, meanwhile it has also made film and music industries to suffer.