Many amongst us think that the best form of business is managed by the family.

Many amongst us think that the best form of business is managed by the family. This opinion has both pros and cons, as many other form of businesses family run business too has flip sides in all aspects of business. To begin with, the trust level amongst the senior management in a family owned business is way higher than other form of businesses. When the senior management is of one family they know each other quite well and hence the conflicts are minimised since miss understandings are reduced to a great extent. For example TATA is a family owned business and it is known for its values and ethics, all the senior managers have followed the ethics throughout the history of the company. Another benefit of a family owned business is that, since people know each other they know the capabilities and strengths of the peers. Hence, they can use the people as per the needs and requirements. For example if one of the person is good as an orator then he can be used in places where client or the third party needs to be convinced. But despite of all these advantages, there are many disadvantages also that comes with family business. One of the major disadvantage of the family business is that many times they don't innovate, since the company don't innovate their chances of failing as a business is more. Moreover, many a times people in family business dont push and learn new trends or hire new talent hence at times it leads to increase in losses, because competition is hiring young blood and innovating at a faster rate. In the end, I would like to conclude by saying that although family business comes with its fair share of pros, but if proper attention is not given to the business it could end resulting in huge financial turmoil and problem for the founders.