These days children prefer to study and communicate through the mobile phones more. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this habit?

Nowadays, children are increasingly opting for different types of online modes and smartphones for their studies and communication purposes. This has certain advantages such as reducing their traveling time to school, whereas it also has some demerits like harmful effects on their health. I will be discussing these points in the essay. During these unprecedented times, the use of technology has expanded in every possible field from online schooling to shopping, from streaming movies to webinars. Due to this, children are choosing smartphones for all their activities, which includes attending classes online. This has a significant effect on their schedule as it completely eliminates student's transportation time to school. Some students have to travel far distances just to get a proper education. For example, students in a small town of Sikkim have to travel a long distance on foot to reach schools which consumed more time from their daily routine. But, by attending schools online this problem is eradicated. However, the excessive usage of technology has its own disadvantages. Owing to the increasing growth in virtual modes for learning and communicating, children are spending more time on their mobile phones, which can lead to some serious health-related issues suchlike, weakening of eyesight. If someone spends more time on the gadgets, the light-emitting from it starts harming the vision. According to research, conducted by the University of Vancouver, the blinking rate of the eye is reduced to almost 50% while using any electronic device, resulting in drying of the eyeball. In conclusion, it is advantageous if children spend an adequate amount of time on their phones otherwise, it can hurt them.