Some people say that drug companies have the responsibility to spend money on researching medicine to help the poorer countries, while others think the main responsibility of drug companies is to make money.

It is thought that carrying out medical research for developing nations is the responsibility of pharmaceutical corporations. However, some argue that gaining profit will be their main purpose. From my perspective, companies tend to make considerable fortunes in the situation of diseases worldwide, which I would elaborate on in the following essay. First of all, it’s undeniable that apart from those poverty-stricken countries, every nation has been encountering the problems of a wide variety of illnesses. One particularly salient example of this can be seen in the outbreak of coronavirus pandemic in the current two years. A number of companies getting involved in the invention of vaccines aim to assist all countries around the world to overcome the tough challenges. Undoubtedly, the disease creates great opportunities for them to boost international sales. Even more crucial, though, is that the majority of the corporations are profit-oriented, creating maximum profits would be their first priority. Poor countries may have insufficient capital and market, simply targeting customers from there would inevitably limit their profits, which is extremely opposed to their original mission. When their revenue couldn’t meet their costs, it may lead to bankruptcy, having a negative impact on the economy. Admittedly, some critics may endorse that pharmaceutical companies in advanced countries should have corporate responsibility to help impoverished economies. Inventing drugs requires long-term inputs, including talented researchers and mass funds, which are not affordable for poor countries. Therefore, they are expected to engage in absorbing those costs, and sell their new-invented drugs to needful nations all over the world. In conclusion, I remain convinced that pharmaceutical corporations should focus on developing their business. Not only should every nation come up with their own solutions to settle the problems, but those medical companies ought to target countries all over the globe to pursue the largest profits.