People who commit serious crimes should be kept in prsison for as long as possible to ensure that they cannot commit more crimes.

An increasing number of people suppose that, as far as feasible, convicts should be imprisoned to guarantee that new crimes are less likely to occur. There is also a common belief that offenders should be rehabilitated after completing their sentences. Although opinions are divided on this issue, I firmly maintain that criminals ought to be punished in jail as long as possible. Initially, the most significant reason for this is that keeping prisoners away from society safeguards individuals against harm. Most people do not want to go to prison. Consequently, every year there are vast numbers of prisoners escaping for crimes that risk people's lives again and again. Numerous offenders have returned to prison many times. People all over the world are frightened of criminals. As a result, the government should imprison convicts for an extended time to ensure that they cannot commit crimes again. Second, people who commit extreme crimes frequently have personality disorders, making it difficult, if not impossible for them to reform. In fact, in many countries, society and official authorities face the problem that it is almost impossible to change these people or put them on the road to an honest life. In many circumstances, they do not want to change things and do not want to comply with the law. The government should not trust them or offer them opportunities because they are not humans when they commit serious crimes. They can not control their behaviors and there are more and more criminals at anytime. In conclusion, offenders should be kept in prison as long as possible because of their critical crimes and personality disorders to guarantee inhabitants’ safety. In my opinion, not only does the government charge them, there should be extended time to ensure that offenders never perpetrate anymore.