There is often much debate around the fact that these days, there are many individuals are relying on social networking channels to supersede face-to-face communication. While there are admittedly several drawbacks to people in modern society, the positive influences of this growing trend are believed to be more significant. In this essay, I will clarify for this viewpoint.

There is often much debate around the fact that these days, there are many individuals are relying on social networking channels to supersede face-to-face communication. While there are admittedly several drawbacks to people in modern society, the positive influences of this growing trend are believed to be more significant. In this essay, I will clarify for this viewpoint. Firstly, keeping in touch can be seen as the biggest benefit of using social media. No matter where you are or what time it is, social networking channels allow users to see and talk to people they care about, without having to travel. For instance, overseas students nowadays can stay in touch with what their family is doing in real time by using apps for facetime. With this utility, social media more or less reduces their feelings of homesickness. Secondly, we can use the social platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter to communicate and socialize locally as well as globally. Friend and dating apps have become a new way for people to make friends and community of people with similar interests to connect with. From online conversation, we can also have face-to-face meetups and become true friends. These days, making new friends is as common and accepted as if we were striking up a conversation with someone we met at a local hangout. Besides the benefits of social networking sites, the role of face-to-face conversation is also undeniable. Relationships between people will be tightened when having direct communications, through facial expressions, gestures. If you are feeling depressed or lonely, surely a pat on shoulder or a handshake will bring more emotions than a few lines of texts. It not only improves our mood, but also enhances our relationships with others In conclusion, in spite of the fact that using social networking channels makes it easier to interact, I personally still strongly believe that the positive effects that social media has on our communication are outweighed by the disadvantages.