There is no doubt that the internet is one of the best modern inventions. It has made many things possible in our life while some people believe that it has brought some negative consequences too.

The internet has profound contributions to our lifestyle and daily needs. Also, information is instantaneously available, at the behest of the people due to this technology. From ahistorical perspective, the comfort level enjoyed by people is at its pinnacle. Such is the impact of the internet on our life. This essay will discuss how the internet is playing an indispensable role in shaping education as one of the main advantages, and, secondly, outline how cybercrimes can adversely affect lives. The internet significantly boosts student autonomy. Students have the freedom to focus on whatever topics or subjects they want to study and learn more on this subject. An example is the number of online courses available, covering a variety of subjects, which up until today was unavailable to most learners. This has caused an upsurge in the number of people studying tertiary-level degrees, at a pace and schedule that suits them the best. Education is no more a rigid process of learning in classrooms; rather, it is an entertaining, engaging and fun activity and thanks to the internet technology for that. The main disadvantage associated with the usage of the internet is the rise of electronic crimes. People risk their privacy online by having their sensitive information stolen by malicious software written by nefarious hackers. According to Time Magazine, the shopping giant Walmart suffered one of the largest online heists ever, where a security breach leaked millions of credit card information. This resulted in disrupting their shopping services; affecting customers living in remote areas. In conclusion, the benefits the internet bring to education, such as student autonomy, must be measured against the drawbacks, such as cybercrimes. Overall, the internet’s positive usage by people all over the world significantly outweighs its negative usage.