There is increasing awareness of the role that greenhouse gas emissions play in global climate change. How do greenhouse gases affect our environment and how can worldwide greenhouse gas emissions be controlled?

Most people now agree that carbon dioxide, methane and other emissions contribute significantly to climate change. These ‘greenhouse’ gases prevent sunlight from escaping earth’s atmosphere, and as a result global surface temperature increases, which in turn has catastrophic effects on the ecosystem. Sea levels are rising because the ice caps are melting, and many species of wildlife are threatened with extinction. In my view there are various possible solutions that can help to mitigate the problems caused by the build-up of greenhouse gases, as follows. First it is important to consider regulation. As long ago as 1992, there was international commitment at the Kyoto meeting to control greenhouse gases. Although the American government has chosen not to support the Kyoto treaty, other countries are working together to reach targets set by the UN for the reduction of emissions and the stabilisation of world temperatures. Despite setbacks, there has been some success in this area, and provided America can be convinced of the reality of global warming, then hopefully they, too, will join in the struggle to control greenhouse gas emissions. Another solution might be the encouragement of investment in alternative energy sources. Wind power, solar power and even nuclear power have all been criticised as being either unsafe or prohibitively expensive. However, these criticisms are becoming weak as technology is becoming safer and more affordable. Wind and solar now present themselves as promising alternatives to the burning of oil, coal and gas, especially now that the world seems to be exhausting its supply of these non-renewable sources of energy. In the wake of the Kyoto Agreement, many wise governments have begun to prioritise investment in these new industries. In conclusion, the greenhouse gas problem can be tackled through regulation and investment in ‘green’ technologies such as wind and solar power. As these technologies continue to prove themselves in terms of cost and safety, they will become more commonplace and the demand for greenhouse gas producing fuel will die away.