Does it help students if parents pay for their university education?

A study from the University of California compares children versus parents paying for their studies and the results are contradictory: On one hand the more parents pay, the worse children’s grades because they spend too much time on leisure activities. On the other hand, if parents pay for children’s education, fewer children leave before graduating than if children pay for their own education. So, does it help students if parents pay for their university education? An established view was that if children find a job, this distracts them from their studies. This could be due to the fact that they have less time to dedicate to lessons and to study. In fact, as explained by the second result, if parents pay, children are less tempted to leave the university before graduating and it could be because they have only one task: to study. But paying for their own studies can also be extra stimulating for them: in fact, as is highlighted by the first finding, children whose parents are paying have a lot of free time that also could distract them from studies. From my point of view, children who pay for thier own studies are more motivated, because they are making sacrifices for a better future. Of course, it could be difficult to get organized in order to succeed, but if they are really motivated, they can do it.