There is growing demand for fresh water nowadays and this is becoming a global problem. What are the causes and how this problem can be solved by individuals and governments?

Growing population requires more resources that includes both natural and manmade. When one talks about natural resources, water is seen as foremost essential component required for living. Although, earth is known as blue planet due to plenty of availability of water on its surface, but 97 percent of water available is saline, whereas only 3 percent is fit for drinking purposes. Therefore, to fulfill the huge rising demand with available water becomes challenging task and seeks utmost attention of both consumers and regime. This eassy illustrates both the causes and solutions followed by a rational conclusion. First major cause behind this problem is that an ample amount of fresh water run to fields for irrigation purposes and there are few crops that is only exported to other nations or states and demands huge quantity of standing water throughout its base period and ironically law makers fix minimum support price only on those crops, that ultimately results in depletion of native natural resources. Secondly, low conservation of rain water and household waste water due to high initial setup cost of recharge scheme infrastructure and further its annual maintenance. Thirdly, water pollution by an individual by adding fecal matter in streams and industries by adding toxic material in rivers and lakes leads to detrimental quality of fresh water that ultimately increased the biological and chemical oxygen demand. To safeguard from the situation of water scarcity, the government and an individual should collectively take measures. Firstly, government should make mandatory building bye laws that includes water harvesting plant during construction of commercial and domestic bulildings. Also, government should provide subsidy on infrastructure cost that encourages more citizens to opt for scheme as well as one can conserve rain water and daily household waste water and recharge underground aquifier. Secondly, lawmakers should frame strict laws for punishment and penalty to an individual who is accountable for water pollution. Thirdly, regime should encourage farmers to grow such crops that have less water requirement for irrigation purposes. Lastly, individual should understand their moral duty towards the sustainable use of water resources. To conclude, it is a time to think for the grassroot reasons for its continous shortage at an alarming rate and different methods to conserve this valuable element, unless and until, it is too late and country will head towards desert nation. Therefore, government and its citizens should collectively act and understand their own responsiblity for conservation and sustainable use of water.