There is an opinion that we are exposed to too much information nowadays. Do the advantages of being informed 24/7 outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays there is too much information online and people can be informed around the clock. Some people claim that it is good for us to stay informed, others say that it has more disadvantages than advantages and we should reduce the flow. First of all, the main disadvantage of getting too much information is the ensuing growth of the stress level. People read news, watch videos, text each other, and tell what is happening somewhere or what is going to happen next, then they start thinking and analyzing the information and get stressed. The world is not that stable as it used to be, and people try to fit in, so they have to learn more to be ready to react quickly. Secondly, the overwhelming amount of information causes FOMO and FOBO – Fear of missing out and Fear of better options – which are the types of social anxiety. People scroll Instagram feeds and see stunning images of other’s perfect life. However, staying informed has some advantages. It cannot be denied that information differs and it can be also positive. People have access to everything which can be found online: books, films, weather forecasts, news, studies, etc. For example, if a person intends to run a business he or she can read something connected with business analytics and decide which time is better for the start. Besides this, people are in touch with each other and they know that their relatives and friends are fine. That can help to keep calm. Unfortunately, the disadvantages of dealing with too much information affect us more negatively than the advantages. People have to pay psychologists and psychotherapists because they are always stressed and their quality of life is declining. To conclude, although staying informed has certain advantages, it can be better to reduce the amount of perceived content. I believe that people should carefully choose what to read and what to watch online.