There is an ongoing debate

There is an ongoing debate about whether students in schools should study in groups or independently in order to improve their academic performance. While individual learning has its own benefits, I believe that studying in a group setting is a superior way for students to progress intellectually. The key rationale behind the former belief is that students are able to be self-paced. An independent student could progress at his own pace without being pushed or slowed down by others, which is often the case when studying in a group. When studying together, some fast learners may be hesitant to be held back by sluggish peers, and vice versa. Moreover, lone learners might easily focus on their own performance. Without being distracted by others, they are more likely to maximize their learning time as well as the productivity. By this their outcomes will be significantly enhanced. However, I would argue that group work is more beneficial in terms of academic success. One argument is that students will have the opportunity to acquire valuable knowledge and skills. A group of students is prone to come up with more plausible ideas and perceive issues from different perspectives through brainstorming, discussing and bargaining than those who study alone. As a result, such teamwork techniques may boost members' creativity and critical thinking. More than that, teamwork would motivate school children to study harder. It is indisputable that all people' efforts matter groups, and one's failure or bad performance may have detrimental impacts on the entire team. Those who work poorly in comparison to their partners will be driven to put in extra effort for the sake of their team. In conclusion, albeit many advantages offered by self-study method, I am contend that studying in groups would help school-goers achieve more desirable academic outcomes.