How international media has changed local culture

It is believed that social networks have made a huge difference in local culture. Although, these platforms have benefited communities in many ways, they have had numerous adverse impacts. In my opinion, I consider that international media bring about more advantages to our lives compared to any problems they might bring. On the one hand, forums such as Facebook and Twitter have made people closer together through affordable or free voice and video calls. At present situation, individuals from all income groups can keep in touch with their friends and relatives all over the world. Furthermore, citizens have the possibility to discuss about various global and local issues online and influence politicians’ decisions. For example, in my country Iran, the justice system was forced to abolish a discriminatory law due to the pressure of social media recently. On the other hand, Internet communication has changed the human life for worst in some ways. Firstly, as users spend more and more time connecting with others online, they cut themselves off from their immediate surrounding more. This means that, they have less friends to rely on in everyday reality. In addition, there are countless predators who make friends with others and after a while try to scam them. For instance, it is heard on daily basis on news that how scammers take advantage of personal information of users for their bad intentions. To sum up, while there are different views, I think that online global interactions have changed the way we live for better.