In some countries, online shopping is replacing shopping in store. What are the reasons for this? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, people are increasingly leaning towards shopping on the Internet rather than l going to stores. In this essay, I will explain the justifications behind the phenomenon and illustrate my opinions that the disadvantages of this trend overshadow its advantages. Regarding the causes behind this trend, there are several explanations that can be done to justify it. Firstly, online shopping is undeniably convenient especially when purchasers do not have time to shop around. People can buy merchandise at home with just a click; therefore, the cost and pollution generated from transport is also significantly reduced. Moreover, a few customers are afraid to face unpleasant shopping experiences such as rude shop assistants or being ripped off; as a result, online shopping without human contact and visible pricing is their top choice. Secondly, online shopping allows people to easily pick up a bargain. For instance, E-commerce trading floors often hold flash sales while stores have only a few seasonal discounts. Besides, due to paying the costs of running a shop, products in stores are more costly than those online, without having significant differences in quality. Despite having undeniable benefits, online shopping has a large number of drawbacks. First, consumers have no opportunity to try on clothes before paying for something. There are many cases where delivered items have a poorer or unmatched quality compared to images advertised online. Moreover, due to having low prices, online shops often have no return policy or really complicated ones so that customers have no choice but to give it away or just leave it untouched and wasted. Second, people tend to overspend and buy useless things when shopping online. This is explained by the behaviours of seeing a product on sale, customers usually have less hesitation in buying, which leads to unnecessary purchases and a waste of money for buyers. In conclusion, I believe that online shopping is partly superior to conventional shopping and able to resolve existing drawbacks of the in-store purchase. However, there are several disadvantages underlying when it comes to blindly shopping online that everyone needs to consider.