There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

Nowadays, the number of families that desire to have less offsprings are rising. This essay will discuss the merits and drawbacks of having a small household. There are two main advantages that parents can gain from having less children, which are the minimum expenses and the easiness to look after them. Firstly, it is undeniable that the price of general products have risen significantly over the last decade, thus the cost to spend towards the offsprings also increase simultaneously. According to 'The Economist Australia' magazine, the average expenses for family of four is AUD$90, 000 compared to household of six with AUD$150, 000 annually. In addition, maintaining fewer children are easier, as parents are able to look after them equally. Therefore, having a small household indeed is beneficial in terms of money, time and attention. On the other hand, there are two disadvantages with having less offsprings, which are less togetherness and unavoidable personal matter in the future. In 2015, researchers discovered that over 85% of parents with less than two descendants generally spend their retirements alone. This is due to the fact that often their children are likely to be busy with their work or perhaps living in different country in the future. Additionally, issues that can affect their emotional health can develop to hate, since parents normally give too many attentions that are not necessary for them. Hence, personal issues and less time to spend often will impact small family in the future. To conclude, the trend to have a small family is set in the future. On one hand, it is easier to look after the children and the minimum cost to spend towards them. However, parents may encounter personal matters and less togetherness in the future with their offsprings.